Job Title:Senior Programmer
Release date:2018-08-24  2018-08-24
Players:1-20 (online)
Available on:PC, PS4, XBOX ONE

F1 2018

F1 2018 is a racing video game and the tenth installment in the Formula One video game franchise developed and published by Codemasters. The game is based on the 2018 Formula One World Championship and includes all twenty-one circuits from the calendar and all twenty drivers and ten teams competing in the season. It was released on 24 August 2018 for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Android and iOS versions are expected to be released later in 2018.

F1 2018 features substantial revisions to its career mode compared to previous systems. F1 2017 introduced a detailed progression system that allowed the player to focus on developing the engine, chassis and aerodynamics of their car.

Players develop their cars by spending "R&D points", which are earned by meeting research and development targets during free practice sessions. Codemasters have introduced a wider range of free practice programs to the game in a bid to extend the game's longevity. At the halfway point of each championship, the player has the option of ending their development cycle and banking all future development points for the next championship. This function has a renewed importance in F1 2018 as teams are subject to rule changes at the end of each championship which can potentially compromise the car's performance.

As with previous titles, F1 2018 includes "Classic Cars", or Formula One cars from previous seasons. The game includes the McLaren M23 and Ferrari 312T, which were driven by James Hunt and Niki Lauda during the 1976 championship; the Brawn BGP 001, the car which Jenson Button and Brawn GP won the 2009 World Drivers' and World Constructors' Championships; and the Williams FW25, the car with which Juan Pablo Montoya finished third in the 2003 championship. All of the Classic Cars that were featured in F1 2017 are included in F1 2018.

As the game is based on the 2018 championship, the Circuit Paul Ricard will make its d├ębut in the series. The Hockenheimring, which was last featured in F1 2016, will make its return to the game. Similarly, the Sepang International Circuit will no longer be included after its removal from the calendar.